CHL Man of the Year is Cal Wild

Calin Wild Named Central Hockey League Man of the Year

GLENDALE, AZ (March 25, 2014) – The Central Hockey League announced today that Calin Wild of the Brampton Beast has been named the 2013-14 Central Hockey League Man of the Year.  The award is selected by the CHL front office based on nominations and supporting materials presented from member clubs.  The other finalists for the award were Sebastian Geoffrion of the Arizona Sundogs, Sean Zimmerman of the Denver Cutthroats, Ben Gordon of the Tulsa Oilers and RG Flath of the Wichita Thunder.

The Central Hockey League Man of the Year award is ‘presented annually to the Central Hockey League player adjudged to have best exemplified strong leadership qualities on and off the ice, while making significant and noteworthy humanitarian contributions to his community’. 

“We are very pleased to present the Man of the Year Award to Mr. Wild,” said Steve Ryan, Central Hockey League Commissioner.  “His dedication and commitment to his club’s off-the-ice activity in the community could not go unnoticed.  The Beast franchise jumped right in last summer led in large part by the community efforts of Mr. Wild and the Central Hockey League would like to congratulate him on receiving such a high honor.” 

"Cal Wild exemplifies all that is good in professional hockey players, said Cary Kaplan, Brampton General Manager/President.  “He has touched the lives of thousands of fans through hundreds of community appearances in our first year.  The Brampton Beast would not be where we are as an organization without Cal's leadership on and off the ice.  We are proud that Cal is the much deserving CHL Man of the Year."

In his fourth professional season, Wild was one of the first signees for the expansion Beast and jumped right in with the team’s busy summer of laying the foundation for the team’s arrival into the Central Hockey League.  Before the very first puck drop, the Winnipeg native attended nearly 200 community events wearing the Beast’s colors and introducing fans in Ontario to the league.  Such events included youth sports camp clinics, hospital visits, charity fundraisers, leadership conferences, etc.

Wild also partnered with Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Peel by launching “Cal’s Pals” which promotes youth membership and civic engagement.  His group invites big brothers and big sisters along with their mentees to attend Beast games while generating awareness for the need of mentors.

During his free time, Wild has volunteered at a not-for-profit mental health and addiction facility which provides breakfast for homeless individuals.  While volunteering, Wild serves and helps cook food at the facility. 

Additionally, Wild has helped support numerous community partners such as Special Olympics, the Ronald McDonald House and William Osler Foundation. 

On the ice, the Beast’s Alternate Captain has 34 points (16-18=34) in 60 games.

CHL Man of the Year (previous winners, since 2001)
2013-13 – Calin Wild (Brampton)
2012-13 – Travis Wight (Wichita)
2011-12 – Riley Weselowski (Rapid City)
2010-11 – Simon Watson (Missouri)
2009-10 – Justin Quenneville (Corpus Christi)
2008-09 – Austin Sutter (Amarillo)
2007-08 – Stacey Bauman (Oklahoma City)
2006-07 – Riley Nelson (Colorado)
2005-06 – Paul Fioroni (Lubbock)
2004-05 – Paul Fioroni (Lubbock)
2003-04 – Don Parsons (Memphis)
2002-03 – Anthony Donskov (Lubbock)
2001-02 – Scott Hillman (Odessa)

The next awards to be announced will be the CHL Rookie of the Year and the Most Outstanding Defenseman Award on Wednesday, March 26. 

2013-14 CHL Awards that have already been announced are:
CHL Athletic Trainer of the Year – Stuart Nichols, Tulsa Oilers
CHL Gunner Garrett Equipment Manager of the Year – Kacee Coberly, Allen Americans
All-Rookie Team – Vincent Arseneau (F, Denver), Alex Lavoie (F, Allen), Adam Pleskach (F, Tulsa), Lee Moffie (D, Denver), Henrik Odegaard (D, Missouri), Ty Rimmer (G, Quad City)
All-CHL Team – Garett Bembridge (F, Denver), Ben Gordon (F, Tulsa), Troy Schwab (F, Denver), Tyler Ludwig (D, Allen), Matt Stephenson (D, Missouri), Shane Owen (G, Missouri)

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »